Color And How Light Works

Figure 26_02_04

Anyone who remembers my fan theory about the Daleks, probably remembers my little explanation about how light works. How it is merely a medium which is reflected and/or absorbed by every object, and whatever is reflected, gets absorbed by our eyes, and interpreted by our brains.

It’s a rudimentary explanation, at best, but that’s the basic gist of it. There is, however, something I did not mention, mostly because it had no bearing to my theory, so I’m bringing it up here: light is (usually) white. White light falls on (say) on a sheet of paper, and it’s reflected, which our eyes catch, so we interpret the sheet of paper as white. If, on the other hand, you find an object that absorbs all light, then there is nothing for our eyes to catch, which is why we perceive it as black. On top of that, white light can be split into three primary colors: red, green and blue. If an object absorbs green and blue, but reflects red, then we’ll perceive the object as being red.

When someone first explained this to me, I found this to be counterintuitive. If an object absorbs green and blue, shouldn’t the object then be cyan? We only perceive it as red because that’s the color that’s reflected and caught by our eyes, which our brains interpret as the object being red. And that’s what I’m getting at. We merely perceive an object as having a certain color, but what if in reality that’s not the case? What if a white object is really black? What if a blue object is really yellow? (it makes sense if you know how color mixing works)

I remember reading about how scientists think that our universe is not real. Or, put in a different way, the universe is a mere reflection of something else. Bearing in mind that everything we see is already a reflection of light, it makes perfect sense to me if what we see is indeed not the real universe. Which has me wonder… what is the real universe like?

But of course, this last bit is based on my rudimentary knowledge of light, and limited understanding of the universe reflection theory.

Leave a comment